While all 24 designers selected annually for the TexSelect programme are considered ‘winners’, over the years TexSelect and its sponsors have additionally celebrated and rewarded exceptional textile talent by giving special awards within certain categories.

The charity closes formally in the next few weeks, passing on the baton to Première Vision Group, which is to launch the PV Awards Next Gen for young textile designers in 2020 – thus continuing the work of TexSelect in the best possible way.

TexSelect® Awards & Prizes

Leading industry figures are invited to judge the TexSelect Prizes for: Fashionawarded for the best fashion fabric design in any discipline; Interiors, awarded for the best fabric design for interiors and donated by The Clothworkers’ Company; Colour, awarded for the best use of colour donated by mode…information; and Pattern, awarded for the most creative pattern and donated by Liberty London Fabrics. Each prize winner receives £1,000.

The judges, many of whom work internationally, meet the designers at the TexSelect London Preview in July. Here they review portfolios, talk at length to the designers, and deliberate carefully, before making their final decisions and announcing the short lists.

At the event Marks & Spencer also decide on the short list and winner for their award, the Marks & Spencer TexSelect Fashion Fabric Award. The winner receives £1,000 plus a mentorship day with the Textile Teams at M&S head office in central London.

The Woolmark Company TexSelect Award, donated by The Woolmark Company, will be judged and the winner announced at Première Vision Designs, Paris, September 2019. Winner receives £1,000 plus support from Woolmark.

Further benefits

TexSelect’s Hero Mentor scheme carries the support forward, linking designers with industry professionals who provide ongoing career mentorship.

Arts Thread: Arts Thread online portfolios for the TEXSELECT® 2019 Top 50 designers selected at interview stage

AVA Cad Cam TexSelect Training Award: 5 day workshop, giving up to six selected designers the opportunity to learn about the key functions of AVA CAD CAM’s software and relevant industry processes

mode…information: All 24 designers to be given a one year subscription to a professional magazine of their choice

R. A. Smart Ltd: Offer to digitally print lengths of fabric for up to three print designers whose work is considered the most appropriate

Pantone: All 24 designers selected by TexSelect receive a Pantone F+H Colour Guide


Judges for TexSelect Awards 2019 were all TexSelect alumnae: Lauren Bowker, material alchemist of See The Unseen; Kirsty McDougall, weave designer and co-founder of Rare Thread; Carlo Volpi, RCA knitwear visiting lecturer and UPW Design Consultant; Emma J Shipley, eponymous print designer; and Fleet Bigwood, highly influential print designer and Central Saint Martins tutor.

The judges for The Woolmark Company Texprint Award 2019 were Alan Scott, Creative Director of Johnstons of Elgin, and Edward Crutchley, winner of two prizes at the 2019 edition of the International Woolmark Prize. The M&S Texprint Fashion Fabric Award 2019 was judged by Libby Allan, Trend Lead, Womenswear & Lingerie, M&S.

Judges for TexSelect Awards 2018 were Abigail Bomford, creative director Camira Fabrics; Polly Leonard, founder/editor Selvedge magazine; Helen Palmer, Director of Materials & Knit, WGSN; Andrew Dawson, Master of The Worshipful Company of Woolmen; Michael Angove, eponymous designer and artist.  The judge for the Marks & Spencer TexSelect Fashion Fabric Award will be Layla Zaa, M&S; and judges for The Woolmark Company TexSelect Award will be announced in September.

Judges for Texprint Awards 2017 were Guy Goodfellow, eponymous luxury interior design; Elsa May, product manager fashion at Première Vision Paris; Eric Musgrave, journalist and industry commentator; and Karen Peacock, Design Director Amazon Fashion. The judges for The Woolmark Company Texprint Award were Roberto Sarti of Lanificio Faliero Sarti, and rising Scottish design star Charles Jeffrey. The M&S Texprint Fashion Fabric Award was judged by Libby Allan, Trend Lead, Womenswear & Lingerie, M&S.

Judges for Texprint Awards 2016 were Pip Jenkins, head of design John Smedley; Fiona Douglas, founder of textile design company Bluebellgray; Nadia Albertini, haute couture embroidery designer; Andrew Croll, design recruitment at Nike. The judges for The Woolmark Company Texprint Award were Aline Galimberti, chief designer of Dormeuil, and Jonathan Christopher, the 2015-16 European menswear finalist for the International Woolmark Prize.

Judges for Texprint Awards 2015 were Julie Hall, head of design, Bedeck; Ariane Bigot, associate fashion director of Première Vision Paris; Sarah Lowry, colour & materials designer at Aston Martin Lagonda; and Nicholas Oakwell of Nicholas Oakwell Couture. The Bedeck Texprint Design Award for Bed & Bath was judged in London by Julie Hall.  The judges for the Woolmark Company Texprint Award were Franco Fabrello, head of design at Marzotto, and UK fashion designer Kit Neale.

Judges for Texprint Awards 2014 were Sarah Campbell, renowned designer; Eifion Griffiths, CEO of Melin Tregwynt; Sue Roberts, design director Home at House of Fraser; and Henry Graham, chief creative officer of London retailer Wolf & Badger. The Lululemon Texprint Award was judged in London by Jill Chatwood, director of design at Lululemon Athletica. The judges for the Woolmark Company Texprint Award were Nino Cerruti, renowned designer and head of Biella-based textile mill Lanificio Fratelli Cerruti, and design duo Agi & Sam, UK-based menswear designers.

Judges for Texprint Awards 2013 were Tamsin Blanchard, style director, the Telegraph Magazine; Emma Kidd, creative researcher Selfridges; designer Madeleine Press; Deanne Schweitzer, Lululemon Athletica; and Luigi Turconi, from Ratti.  The judges for the Woolmark Texprint Award were John Walsh, managing director of Abraham Moon & Sons, Daliah Simble, head of sourcing & production, and Estelle Williams, collection development manager, at Roland Mouret. The Lululemon Texprint Award was judged in London by Deanne Schweitzer, SVP creation at Lululemon Athletica.

Judges for Texprint Awards 2012 were Caroline Burstein creative director at Browns Fashion, Neisha Crosland renowned designer with eponymous interiors and accessories brands, and Paul Stamper senior designer, design perspectives, Renault Design.  The judges for the Woolmark Texprint Award were Masahiro Oono textile project manager of Nikke, and James Dracup and James E Sugden OBE directors of Johnstons of Elgin. The Lululemon Texprint Award was judged in London by Sheree Waterson, executive vice president and chief product officer of Lululemon Athletica.

Judges for Texprint Awards 2011 were Orla Kiely OBE, Sue Timney, David Shah, View Publications, Stuart Stockdale, design director of Jaeger, and Sophie Steller for Spinexpo.  The judges for the Woolmark Texprint Award were Douglas Cordeaux, Fox Brothers & Co, and Keith Walker, managing director of Linton Tweeds.


Find out how your organisation can Become a Sponsor

Not an organisation but would like to support us? Become a Friend

Connect with us

TexSelect is a registered charity, entirely funded by the generous sponsorship of industry, by British charitable foundations, and by individuals connected to the industry. All believe wholeheartedly in supporting the next generation of textile design talent and in encouraging innovation and excellence.

Get involved

If you would like to get involved with TexSelect, please find out more on the links below or get in touch.

Join our mailing list

Sign up for our email newsletters. We will not share your details and you can unsubscribe at any time.

I would like to receive emails and accept the terms & conditions